New Website at www.TheStrangerSong.com

Stuffed friends and Easy-Bake blogs

When I was a little darlin’, I used to host tea parties and invite my sock monkeys, porcelain dolls and action figures. When I sensed a lag in conversation, I would suggest relevant events and topics for discussion: the most recent Rocky and Bullwinkle episode, our upcoming family moves, forest adventures with my brother, etc. Yet even with such riveting subjects, my guests still were not particularly chatty. I wonder if they only came for my sweet-tea filled china cups and Easy-Bake Oven delectables. (Hmm..comparable to some unsociable, starving college kids?? Maybe.)

I couldn't talk about tea parties without a shout-out to Carroll and Tenniel...

Anyway, this whole blog thing makes me feel like I am talking to porcelain dolls and action figures again. Only I never felt obligated to talk to them or pour their tea in order to somehow be faithful with my talents (shout out to Dr. Nyquist) or invest in my future… [Sigh of reluctant responsibility] But it seems that “blogging” is completely necessary for the modern-day lover of media and aspiring writer. And if I ever want to be a big kid and have a portfolio that is a little more colorful than my MBI Alumni writing, then WordPress is basically an Easy-Bake writing experience that I would be completely negligent to pass up.

It took a few years of looking into marble eyes for me to get good at serving coffee and cakes. But hey, I have real people to do that with now! So maybe it’s okay that publishing “blogs” makes me feel like I am talking with imaginary friends–at least I have a creative outlet and an audience (be they sock monkeys or forced friends) to start reading the obscene number of unpublished drafts that I have been hoarding.

Anyway. Here I go with a head-start to one of a few New Year’s rezies. If you have a pulse, leave me comments or send me an owl to let me know what my writing makes you think.

3 responses

  1. nanci grimes

    Looking forward to the fruit of your new year’s resolution!

    December 30, 2010 at 1:30 pm

  2. allison

    I always read your blog, Lex! And the best part is that it is so wholly your voice coming through, it’s like we’re roomies again, and you’re talking to me while sitting in the Nest, drinking tea, and hoping for some dark chocolate! Always a pleasure 🙂 (sometimes, the sock-monkeys do come to life and the marble eyes reflect understanding!)

    December 30, 2010 at 7:19 pm

  3. Your’e a great writer Alexis. Keep up to blogin’!

    August 14, 2011 at 10:35 pm

Leave a Reply

